A platter of meats

What is Halal? Is ‘Halal’ for Muslims only?

In Islam, Halal is an Arabic term meaning “lawful or permissible” and not only encompasses food and drink, but all matters of daily life.

The quality of Halal food and other products attracts a variety of consumers all around the globe. Anyone regardless their faith, gender, ethnicity, nationality, race, age- can eat ‘Halal’ and lead a ‘Halal’ lifestyle.

With regards to the term “Halal” within the Food & Beverage Industry, it simply refers to anything permissible to consume.  If it is used in reference to animal meat, then it means any animal which has been slaughtered in accordance with the Shariah method is Halal (lawful) to consume.

Halal cheesecake

Halal Non-Meat Products:

The following is a partial list of Halal non-meat products that are subject to critical processes or ingredients that can affect the product’s Halal integrity.

Different Halal food items

  • Bread products
  • Cereals – breakfast, natural, and organic
  • Cheese, cheese products and coatings
  • Coffee mixes
  • Dairy Products – whipped toppings and drink mixes
  • Desserts – cakes and pastries
  • Eggs – powdered, frozen, and processed
  • Fish and Seafood
  • French Fries and Processed Potatoes
  • Fruits – fresh and/or dried
  • Grains
  • Honey
  • Ice Cream and Ice Cream Toppings
  • Jams and Jellies
  • Legumes and Nuts
  • Milk (from species considered Halal)
  • Pastry Items – frostings and coatings
  • Pastas


  • Peanut Butter
  • Pizzas
  • Plants (which are non-intoxicating)
  • Sauces and Dressings
  • Seasonings
  • Soup and Soup Base
  • Syrups – table and flavored
  • Tea Blends
  • Vegetables – fresh and frozen


Non-food items which may also be Halal certified:

  • Packaging
  • Protein Powders
  • Vitamins and Minerals
  • Soap
  • Perfume
  • Filter
  • Products made of rubber
  • Capsules, both pharmaceutical and vitamin
  • Cleaning Agents
  • Cosmetics
  • Hair color
  • Infused oil
  • Toothpaste
  • Mouthwash
Pasture with cows and windfarm


Halal Meat and Poultry:

In the meat, poultry, and food industry, animal products from cattle, veal, lamb, sheep, goats, turkeys, chickens, ducks, game birds, bison, and venison are acceptable to consume if they are slaughtered according to Islamic law. You can visit our meat and poultry page by clicking the link below:

click here

Go ahead, ask us

Still have questions on how Halal Certification will be an asset to your organization?

Reach out to us now and inquire further.  One of our team members will help answer your questions and put you on the right path for success in your Halal certification needs.

Contact us

Halal Certified

Why Go Halal?

People consider Halal for many reasons. The benefits of following the ‘Halal way’ comes with tremendous benefits

Learn More

A Muslim woman looking at a package to check if the ingredients are Halal.


Our Halal quality assurance team is ready to help with all your inquiries.

Learn More

What is Haram?

The opposite of Halal is Haram, which means “unlawful, not permissible or prohibited.” The following categories are Haram:

  • Alcohol – intoxicants and narcotic drugs
  • Blood and blood by-products - blood is the circulatory cleansing fluid of the body and is not to be consumed
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, scavengers, and animals improperly slaughtered, sick or dying before slaughter
  • Idolatry - any animals or poultry sacrificed for voodoo, witchcraft or practice that denies the existence of the Creator are not to be consumed.

    No pork and no alcohol
  • Swine and all pork by-products and/or their derivatives
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products or with "impurities” (in Arabic, "najis") from processing, such as manure, urine, rodent droppings, infectious fluids, or pus are considered Haram.
  • The following is a partial list of critical ingredients that can be derived from many sources both Halal and Haram and should be avoided in products that are considered non-Halal:
  • Animal Fat - may be consumed if derived from Halal slaughtered animals

More categories to watch for:

Below is a list of more categories where food items can easily fall under Haram:

  • Enzymes - microbial enzymes are permissible if derived from Halal slaughtered animals
  • Gelatin - may be consumed if derived from fish or if derived from Halal slaughtered animals
  • L-cysteine - may be consumed if derived from synthetic materials
  • Lard - cannot be consumed

    Halal thumbs up, Haram thumbs down
  • Lipids - may be consumed if derived from plants or Halal slaughtered animals
  • Animal Shortening - may be consumed if derived from Halal slaughtered animals
  • Meat Broth and Stock - may be consumed if derived from Halal slaughtered animals
  • Rennet - may be consumed if derived from plant/microbial/synthetic products or from Halal slaughtered animals
  • Tallow - may be consumed if derived from Halal slaughtered animals